InstaCheck > Home

***InstaCheck Fee Reduction Update***

Dear FFLs,

  • Colorado House Bill(HB) 13-1228 required that a fee be collected for firearm background checks prior to a firearm transfer by a Federal Firearm Licensee(FFL). This law went into effect March 20, 2013.

  • Effective Tuesday,
    March 1, 2016
    at 12:01 A.M. (MST), the CBI will reduce the fee for a firearm background check from
    $7.00 to $6.00
    (USD) per transaction.

  • Firearms background checks processed prior to this date will be assessed the $7.00 fee.

  • If you have questions regarding your InstaCheck account, please contact the InstaCheck Billing section at 303-813-5700, option 4, available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. through 5 p.m. (MST), excluding state holidays.

  • For all other InstaCheck-related questions, please contact an InstaCheck Supervisor at 303-813-5700, option 5. InstaCheck's normal business hours are Sunday through Saturday 9:00 A.M. until 9:00 P.M. (MST).

Thank you,
CBI InstaCheck Staff

***Password Management***

  • In addition to the standard feature that allows the FFL Dealer to change their own password, the Colorado Bureau of Investigation(CBI) has developed a process that will allow the FFL Dealer to set up a process to handle issues when the password is forgotten.

  • The first step for FFL Dealers that decide to use this feature is to establish a set of answers to challenge questions. This is done by going to the Reset Password section of the web site. Here, the challenge questions are listed and answers can be entered.

  • Once these answers are established, the Forgot Password link on the log in page can be used. When this link is selected, three of the challenge questions will be presented. The User is required to answer two of the three questions correctly. When this requirement is met, the system will generate a new password for the account.

  • This new password can be used to log in and to change the password as desired by the FFL Dealer.

  • If this process is not used by the FFL Dealer, please contact the InstaCheck Supervisor at 303-813-5700, option 5. InstaCheck's normal business hours are Sunday through Saturday 9:00 A.M. until 9:00 P.M. (MST).

***Private Sale Information for Colorado FFLs***

If the sale of a firearm originates from your business inventory, then it is a dealer sale. If the sale involves the attempted transfer of a firearm by an unlicensed person, private seller or private vendor, then it must be processed in accordance with *ATF procedure 2013-1* and *State Law CRS 18-12-112*. If during the attempted transfer, the original seller does not relinquish possession of the firearm to the FFL and the buyer is subsequently denied, there is no requirement to run a background check on the original owner and they may leave the business premises with the firearm and the transaction will not be entered into the bound book.

Thank you,
CBI InstaCheck Staff

***This site supports the following Web Browsers***

  • Internet Explorer - version 8
    or later
    To update to the latest version click here
  • Firefox - version 20
    or later
    To update to the latest version click here
  • Chrome - version 26
    or later
    To update to the latest version click here
  • Safari - version 5
    or later
    To update to the latest version click here
  • Opera - version 11
    or later
    To update to the latest version click here

***The CBI InstaCheck Unit would like to hear your comments regarding the recent changes we made to our system.***

If you would like to make any recommendations on how we can improve the website, please email your suggestions to

Thank you,
CBI InstaCheck Staff

***In our continuing effort to better serve our customers, CBI InstaCheck is upgrading the InstaCheck dealer website on 08/11/2013***

Dear FFLs,

  • Beginning August 11, 2013, FFL dealers will be able to submit military buyers with Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders and out of state driver's licenses on the website. You will no longer need to call in these checks. The new process allows you to electronically enter your buyer's report date, the name of the miltary base and confirmation you have their PCS orders in hand when you enter your buyer as a Colorado resident with an out of state driver's license. Remember, this only applies to military personnel with PCS orders.
  • The information of buyers who are not citizens of the US and in the country on a Visa can also be electronically submitted. You will be asked to enter the required exception document your buyer has by using a drop down menu which will list the acceptable documents a non-immigrant alien in the US on a Visa must have to purchase firearms.
  • Finally, there have been changes to the password requirements to improve website security. These requirements will affect FFL dealers when you change your website log-in password or within ninety (90) calendar days of system access after 08/11/2013.
  • Password requirements are that the new password shall:
    • Be a minimum length of eight (8) characters;
    • Not be a dictionary word or proper name;
    • Not be the same as the User-ID;
    • Contain at least three of the following:
      • Lower Case Letters;
      • Upper Case Letters;
      • Numbers; and/or
      • Special Characters {i.e.: !@#$%^&}.
        Periods may not be used.
    • Expire within a maximum of ninety (90) calendar days; and
    • Not be identical to the previous ten (10) passwords.
  • We hope these changes help you increase the efficiency of your business with this timesaving measure, as well as improve your interaction with CBI InstaCheck through this upgrade in technology.
  • CBI InstaCheck will monitor the effectiveness of the new forms in the coming weeks and months, and welcome feedback from FFL dealers throughout the state. If you have questions or comments, please call 303-813-5700 option 5 or email

***Important Update Regarding HB13-1228***

Dear FFLs,

In response to recent inquiries made by Colorado FFLs related to the implementation of HB 13-1228, the following updates are being provided:

  • HB 13-1228 went into effect upon the Governor's signature starting on March 20, 2013.

  • In accordance with this new state law, the CBI InstaCheck Unit began charging Federal Firearm Licensees the required fee of $10.00 per transaction on March 21, 2013.

  • As previously stated, the CBI is currently in the process of finalizing the billing procedure through which FFLs will need to remit the required payment to the State of Colorado.

  • Licensed FFLs may expect a hard copy Billing Statement for the time period from March 21 through the end of April, to be received during the first 10 days in the month of May.

  • Reminder: Only HB 13-1228 was effective upon the Governor's signature, Universal Background Checks (HB 13-1229) will go into effect on July 1, 2013.

***Important Notice-CBI Implementation of New HB13-1228***

Dear FFLs,

The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) InstaCheck Unit would like to take a moment to provide a quick update related to the status of the firearm legislation signed into law on March 20, 2013.

With the recent passage of firearm bills during the 2013 legislative session, the CBI is working to create processes to address the implementation of those laws. Specifically, the CBI is creating the framework for conducting universal background checks, and the process by which fees will be collected related to firearms transfers in the state.

We understand this is a new process for everyone involved, and we will work with you to address these challenges moving forward. Our goal is to provide frequent communication and updates in the coming days and weeks related to these issues to make this transition as effortless as possible.

As stated earlier, HB-1228 went into effect on March 20, 2013. It requires a $10.00 fee to be collected during the sale of a firearm in Colorado. We are currently finalizing the system by which you will be required to collect the fee and remit the payment to the State of Colorado. That information will be provided through this message board, the CBI InstaCheck Web Site and other means.

Universal background checks (HB1229) states private sales of firearms are subject to a background check conducted by a licensed firearms dealer. This law will go into effect on July 1, 2013.

Again, CBI will continue to coordinate with FFLs throughout the state as processes are finalized. We greatly appreciate your patience as we move forward. The CBI InstaCheck Unit also plans to provide updates involving these laws on our public web site ( in the coming days and weeks.

The following lists some of the frequently asked questions already posed to CBI.

  • When will the fee go into effect?

    CBI is currently finalizing the framework for the collection of the fee with the licensed firearms dealers (FFLs) throughout the state. It's expected the fee collection will begin as soon as signed into law by the Governor.

  • What will CBI do with the funding through the fees collected during the purchase of a firearm?

    CBI will utilize the funding to address direct and indirect costs associated with InstaCheck including increased staffing (24.7 positions), equipment for the computer-based checks and additional physical space to house the team to accommodate the increase of background checks.

  • How did the CBI determine the dollar amount of the fee?

    CBI considered the potential for increased volume of checks in the future, staffing needs and other operational costs to determine the $10 fee. While we believe actual costs exceed $10, we will assess the program at the end of the calendar year to determine if any adjustments need to be made once we have an opportunity to analyze actual data.

  • Is the fee of $10 fixed?

    The $10 fee was based on calculations of two of the bills being debated in the 2013 Colorado Legislative session. The CBI plans to evaluate the program at the end of the calendar year to determine if any adjustments need to be made once we have an opportunity to analyze actual data.

Effective 03/20/13

Please begin by using the menu bar on the left. You may use this menu to navigate through the website.